In Maths at Ormiston Endeavour Academy, we want all students to:

  • See maths as a creative and enjoyable subject
  • Be able to fluently recall key mathematical facts (including times tables, factors of 100, the equivalence of basic fractions with decimals and percentages)
  • Be adept at and enjoy problem solving
  • Be able to articulate their mathematical thinking, making consistent and accurate use of mathematical terms
  • Possess the mathematical skills required to adeptly navigate everyday life as an adult, including financial literacy and a critical eye for misleading statistics (e.g. in the news)
  • Have the confidence to take on, and possess the knowledge and skills to flourish in, post-16 courses involving Maths
  • Have an awareness of careers involving and/or requiring Maths

To achieve this, we are in the process of implementing a ‘mastery’ style of teaching, which is used in Shanghai and Singapore. There are various different aspects of teaching for mastery, but some of the key ones are a focus on depth before breadth, the use of visual representations and tactile objects, highlighting the links between mathematical topics, and encouraging mathematical discourse.

In Year 7 students study:

Unit 1: place value

Unit 2: decimals (part 1)

Unit 3: factors and multiples

Unit 4: negatives

Unit 5: expressions

Unit 6: lines, symmetry and angles

Unit 7: fractions

Unit 8: probability

Unit 9: graphs

Unit 10: fractions, decimals and percentages

Unit 11 (STEM/enrichment): bridge building

In Year 8 students study:

Unit 1: sequences

Unit 2: ratio and multiplicative reasoning

Unit 3: proportion

Unit 4: decimals (part 2)

Unit 5: rounding and estimates

Unit 6: area, perimeter and volume

Unit 7: data

Unit 8: angles (part 2)

Unit 9: probability (part 2)

Unit 10: percentages

Unit 11: transformations

In Year 9 students study:

Unit 1: number

Unit 2: algebra

Unit 3: representing data

Unit 4: fractions and percentages

Unit 5: equations, inequalities and sequences

Unit 6: angles

Unit 7: averages and range

Unit 8: perimeter, area and volume

In year 10 Students follow the Pearson GCSE Maths course. Topics covered are:

Unit 1: graphs

Unit 2: transformations

Unit 3: ratio & proportion

Unit 4: Pythagoras & trigonometry

Unit 5: probability

Unit 6: multiplicative reasoning

Unit 7: constructions, loci and bearings

Unit 8: quadratic equations and graphs

Unit 9: perimeter, area and volume

In year 10 Students follow the Pearson GCSE Maths course. Topics covered are:

Unit 1: fractions, indices and standard form

Unit 2: congruence, similarity and vectors

Unit 3: further algebra

Unit 4: vectors and geometric proofs

Unit 5: proportion and further graphs

(some topics are for Higher Tier students only)